Sturgeon County - Boards & Committees Detail

Calahoo-Villeneuve Sand and Gravel Advisory Committee

The Calahoo Villeneuve Sand and Gravel Advisory Committee plays an important role in advising Council on issues related to sand and gravel extraction in the Calahoo-Villeneuve area. This committee looks at various aspects of extraction, including groundwater monitoring, traffic impacts, and environmental considerations to help ensure a coordinated approach on issues and activities.

The committee meets six times per year, and members are compensated for their time at meetings. People who have served on the committee have found it to be a great way to learn more about sand and gravel resource extraction in the County and the role of boards and committees in supporting Council.  Review the Calahoo-Villeneuve Sand and Gravel Advisory Committee Terms of Reference for more information.

Thinking of applying?  Check out the Qualification checklist:

  • I am a current resident of Sturgeon County
  • I am open to sharing and learning new ideas and best practices in resource extraction
  • I am available to attend meetings at least six times per year
  • I would like to learn more about responsible resource development and balancing the needs of the public and the environment


The Calahoo-Villeneuve Sand and Gravel Advisory Committee is made up of three public members, three gravel industry members, and two Council members. The Mayor is considered an ex officio member of the Committee. Members are appointed annually at Council’s Organizational Meeting, usually held in October.

Term of membership for public members is three (3) years and begins on January 1 of the given year.


Karen Shaw, Councillor
Wayne Bokenfohr, Councillor
Shannon Cory, Public Member (January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2021)
Raymond Soetaert, Public Member (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2022)
Lyle Quintal, Public Member (January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2020)
K. John, Inland Aggregates, Industry Member
G. Whissel, Canadian Aggregates, Industry Member
M. Sleeman, Yellowhead Aggregates, Industry Member
B. Helm and G. Gowdy, LaFarge Canada Inc., Industry Member

Meeting Information:

The committee meets approximately six (6) times per year on the third Monday of every other month starting in January. Meetings begin at 9:00 a.m. and are held in Council Chambers or other location identified by the committee.