Sturgeon County - Boards & Committees Detail

Community Services Advisory Board

The Community Services Advisory Board plays an important role in advising Council on parks and recreation, culture, family and community support services, and library services including identifying ways to enhance existing services and exploring new opportunities. This board includes public member representatives from each division to ensure a broad perspective of needs across the county.

The board meets six times per year, and members are compensated for their time at meetings. People who have served on the board have found it to be a great way to learn more about community development through recreational and support services and the role of boards and committees in supporting Council. Review the Community Services Advisory Board Terms of Reference for more information.

Thinking of applying?  Check out the Qualification checklist:

  • I am a current resident of Sturgeon County
  • I am open to sharing and learning new ideas and best practices in community development
  • I am available to attend meetings at least six times per year
  • I have previous experience as a community leader or volunteering in the community


The Community Services Advisory Board is made up of six public members (one from each electoral division), one Edmonton Garrison member, one Sturgeon School Division member, and two Council members. The Mayor is considered an ex officio member of the Committee. Members are appointed annually at Council’s Organizational Meeting, usually held in October.

Term of membership is three (3) years and begins on January 1 of the given year.


Neal Comeau, Councillor
Kristin Toms, Councillor
Melissa Phillips, Public Member – Division 1 (January 1, 2020– December 31, 2022)
Tom Flynn, Public Member – Division 2 (January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2021)
Raymond Soetaert, Public Member – Division 3 (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2022)
Carol Kaup, Public Member – Division 4 (January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2021)
Charmaine Prince, Public Member – Division 5 (January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2020)
Vic Frey, Public Member – Division 6 (January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2021)

Meeting Information:

The committee meets six times per year at 6:30 p.m. at  County Centre or other location identified by the board.