Sturgeon County - COVID 19

Sturgeon County Response to COVID-19

Sturgeon County is committed to the delivery of essential services while ensuring the health and safety of our residents and staff. This page will be updated regularly to reflect changes in our operations as well as local restrictions and guidelines as determined by the Province of Alberta. 

Sturgeon County currently does not have additional health measures or restrictions for residents or business and is following the Provincial Guidelines found at

Sturgeon County Services 

As Sturgeon County has aligned its health and safety protocols with provincial public health requirements throughout the pandemic, the move to Step 2 has resulted in the following changes within our organization, effective March 1, 2022:

  • As provincial work-from-home requirements are rescinded, employees may access County facilities in the normal course of business. Sturgeon County is committed to supporting a hybrid workforce, which means some employees will continue to work from home regardless of public health measures.
  • Council Chamber barriers have been removed. Council meetings will be held using the hybrid model of both in-person and virtual. Council Chambers are open to the public.
  • As the provincial mask mandate has been lifted, we have rescinded our Employee Temporary Face Coverings Directive, acknowledging some people may continue to wear masks and will prefer to continue with virtual meetings.
  • Visitors feeling unwell are required not to attend County facilities. To accommodate, County staff can serve residents and customers using phone, online, or virtual options, and members of the public can participate in Council meetings virtually.

The health and safety of employees and visitors remain our number one priority. We will continue with enhanced cleaning / sanitation at County facilities and will have hand sanitizer and masks available to employees and visitors at County facilities.  We will continue to monitor pandemic trends in Sturgeon County and will revise our actions to ensure the continued health and safety of employees and the public. 

Sturgeon County Council Meetings

Sturgeon County Council is currently utilizing a hybrid model for meetings, including online and in-person. Upcoming meeting information including agendas along with past meeting minutes and video archives is available at

Government of Alberta COVID-19 Information 


  • The latest information on the Government of Alberta's vaccination program, including on how to access boosters, is available at