Sturgeon County - Governance

County Council

Sturgeon County has a Council-Commissioner form of government with six Council members and a Mayor that are elected every four years.

  • The Mayor is elected at large and is the chief elected official and formal representative of Sturgeon County.
  • The County Commissioner (CAO) is selected by the Council and is Sturgeon County’s Chief Administrative Official.
  • The Commissioner is responsible for all Sturgeon County business.

In addition to attending Regular Council Meetings during normal business hours, Council Members also attend community functions, Public Hearings and serve on a variety of internal and external committees and boards. The Mayor is ex-officio for all Council committees, boards and agencies, while Councillors select representatives for these committees during its annual Organizational Meeting.

Sturgeon County Position Profiles

Mayor position profile

Deputy Mayor position profile

Councillors position profile


2017-2021 Council

Mayor Alanna Hnatiw


Dan Derouin Division 1
Kristin Toms  Division 2
Wayne Bokenfohr Division 3
Neal Comeau Division 4
Patrick D. Tighe Division 5
Karen Shaw Division 6