Councillor Susan Evans Resigns


Councillor Susan Evans Resigns
Administrator Account
/ Categories: News

Councillor Susan Evans Resigns

Sturgeon County, Alberta – On June 27, 2019, Division 2 Councillor, Susan Evans, submitted her resignation. Mayor Hnatiw called a Special Council Meeting today for the purpose of Council receiving a report from the Chief Administrative Officer regarding the resignation.
“Susan’s work ethic and commitment to her role on Council was very much appreciated. I wish to thank Ms. Evans for her valuable contributions to Sturgeon County during her time as Councillor.” said Mayor Alanna Hnatiw.
Former Councillor Evans’ board and committee positions will be covered by alternate appointed members until new appointments are made at the next Council meeting. As outlined in the Municipal Government Act, a by-election to fill the vacancy must be held within 90 days of the resignation, meaning that the by-election can be held no later than September 25, 2019. The by-election date will be set by Council at the July 9, 2019 Council meeting.
Residents of Division 2 can contact Mayor Alanna Hnatiw with any constituent concerns until the Councillor vacancy is filled. Mayor Hnatiw’s contact information is available on the Sturgeon County website.

For more information, please contact:
Sheila Moore
Manager, Communications

Previous Article Special Council Meeting to be held
Next Article Annexation Negotiating Sub-Committee Update

Theme picker