Edmonton Metropolitan Region united by transit model


Edmonton Metropolitan Region united by transit model
Administrator Account
/ Categories: News

Edmonton Metropolitan Region united by transit model

Residents and businesses in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region are a step closer to a more convenient and integrated transit service between all 13 communities and counties as a result of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signed today to explore how to establish a Regional Transit Services Commission.

The MOU outlines how the Edmonton Metropolitan Region partners could voluntarily work together to set up and operate inter-municipal routes, leaving local service with existing transit agencies. A Regional Transit Services Commission would provide more integrated and reliable movement between nearby communities than the current mix of transit services.

“This win/win approach to regional commuter transit service is a great example of how the municipalities are working together to make best use of resources to benefit our citizens, businesses and the environment,” said City of Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson.

The Government of Alberta has provided $3.7 million to support behind-the-scenes work to set up the commission. The goal would be to have the new commission begin inter-municipal operation after 2020. The Edmonton Metropolitan Region would join the ranks of major Canadian urban centres that have efficient regional transit services, including Vancouver, Victoria, Montréal, Toronto and Ottawa.

For more information:
Regional Transit Services Commission

Media contact:
Tarra Kongsrude, Communications Advisor

Previous Article Sturgeon County Council Appoints New Chief Administrative Officer
Next Article Sturgeon County and Town of Morinville discuss Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework

Theme picker