New Sturgeon County Council sworn in, confirm committee and board appointments


Corporate Communications
/ Categories: News

New Sturgeon County Council sworn in, confirm committee and board appointments

Sturgeon County Organizational Council Meeting Recap | October 26, 2021 

Here are the highlights from the October 26, 2021, Sturgeon County Organizational Council Meeting: 

  • The Honourable Dane Lloyd, Member of Parliament for Sturgeon River-Parkland, conducted the swearing-in ceremony for the newly elected members of Council.  

  • During the Organizational meeting, CAO, Reegan McCullough advised Council that he had received notification from Ron Shaw, Councillor-elect for Division 6, tendering his resignation, effective October 25, 2021. A by-election will now be required for Division 6. The date for the by-election will be set by Sturgeon County Council at an upcoming meeting. 

  • Council approved the Deputy Mayor Schedule for the 2021-2025 Council term and Mr. Lloyd conducted the swearing-in of Neal Comeau as Deputy Mayor for the period October 26, 2021, to June 30, 2022. 

  • Council adopted the 2022 calendar of meeting dates, including regular Council meetings, Committee of the Whole, Municipal Planning Commission, Subdivision and Development Appeal Board, and the 2023 Budget meetings. Sturgeon County Council and Committee of the Whole meetings will continue to be held as a hybrid of in-person and online availability. Meeting agendas, along with meeting minutes and videos can be viewed online

  • Council approved the 2021/2022 appointments for the Council Boards, Committees and Commissions. During the discussion, Administration noted some appointments may be changed at a later date after the by-election for Division 6 councillor and when the County receives confirmation of vacancies for external boards and committees, including the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB). 

Next Council Meeting 

The next Sturgeon County Council meeting will be held at 9:00 a.m. on November 9, 2021. Future agendas and past meeting minutes can be found online.  


Previous Article Third Quarter Air Quality Health Index Results Released
Next Article Sturgeon County - Division 6 by-election set for December 13, 2021