2017 Municipal Election

“Your County, Your Voice!”

The next Municipal Election will be held on Monday, October 16, 2017 where Sturgeon County residents will elect the following positions: Mayor (1), Councillors (6) ‒ all to serve a four-year term in office.

Are you interested in running?

Check out our Candidate Handbook.

Members of the public who are wishing to run in the 2017 municipal election must register prior to accepting campaign contributions.

In Alberta, municipal election candidates who are running for either Mayor or Councillor are required to register with the municipality prior to accepting campaign contributions, under the Local Authorities Election Act.

The Application for Registration of Notice of Intent to Become a Candidate for Municipal Office - is available here.

To register, candidates complete and submit the original application to Sturgeon County, Legislative Services to 9613-100 Street, Morinville, Alberta, T8R 1L9.

Candidates for the 2017 municipal election who accept campaign contributions are required to disclose:

  • Full name and address
  • Address where candidate records are maintained
  • Names and addresses of financial institutions where campaign contributions are deposited
  • Names of signing authorities for all institutions listed

Once the intention to run has been filed, candidates must report any information changes to Legislative Services in writing by email, mail or fax within 48 hours of the changes.

For more information, please contact

Sturgeon County, Legislative Services

9613-100 Street Morinville, AB T8R 1L9

Fax: 780.939.3003

Email: legislativeservices@sturgeoncounty.ca

Candidate Registry - click here to view a current list of candidates