Sturgeon County - Boards & Committees Detail

Agricultural Service Board

Agriculture has solid roots in Sturgeon County. Over the next two years, the Agricultural Service Board will play an important role in informing the County’s agricultural strategy and master plan, including addressing issues facing our agricultural community along with exploring conventional and non-conventional agricultural industries as part of our agri-nomic evolution.

Serving on the Agricultural Service Board is a great way to learn more about the future of agriculture and the role of boards and committees in supporting Council decisions.  Review the Agricultural Service Board Bylaw for more information.

The board meets six times per year and members are paid for attending meetings per the Board and Committee Public Member Remuneration Policy. In addition to serving on the Agricultural Service Board, members are also appointed to the ALUS Partnership Advisory Committee. This Committee also meets six to eight times per year.

The ALUS PAC program is a community-developed and farmer-delivered program that works with farmers and ranchers to produce valuable ecological services on farmland. Review the Council Committees Bylaw for more information. 


The Agricultural Service Board is made up of four public members, two Council members and one junior member. The Mayor is considered an ex officio member of the Board. Term of membership for public members is three (3) years, and one (1) year for junior members, and begins on January 1 of the given year.


Neal Comeau, Councillor
Dan Derouin, Councillor
Jacob Middelkamp, Public Member (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2022)
David Kluthe, Public Member (January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2024)
Allan Montpellier, Public Member (January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2023)
Victor Majeau, Public Member (January 2020 – December 31, 2022)

Meeting Information:

The Agricultural Services Board meets six times a year: January, February, March, June, September, and November. The meetings take place on the second Wednesday of the month, at 9:00 a.m., usually at Sturgeon County Centre, 9613 100 Street, Morinville.

Additional meetings may also be called by the Chair if emergent items arise. The Chair may also cancel meetings if there are insufficient items on the agenda for discussion.

Visit the Sturgeon County - Meeting and Events Calendar for information on upcoming meetings. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, meetings are being held by videoconference.

Additional Info:

Board Administration contact:

Angela Veenstra
Manager, Agriculture Services
Phone: 780-939-8330