Sturgeon County - Boards & Committees Detail

Economic Development Advisory Board

Over the next two years, Sturgeon County’s Economic Development Advisory Board will play an important role in advising Council on business-related issues in the county, including discussing supports for small and medium-sized businesses, diversification, development, and the upcoming commercial development analysis for Sturgeon County.

The board meets four times per year and members are paid for attending meetings per the Board and Committee Public Member Remuneration Policy. Serving on the Economic Development Advisory Board is a great way to learn more about economic development and the role of boards and committees in supporting Council decisions. Review the Council Committees Bylaw for more information.


The Economic Development Advisory Board is made up of up to nine (9) public members from various backgrounds related to economic development, and two Council members. The Mayor is considered an ex officio member of the Committee. Term of membership is three (3) years and begins on January 1 of the given year.


Councillor Matthew McLennan
Councillor Kristin Toms
Joseph Cassidy, Public Member (January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2023)
Don Levers, Public Member (January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2024)
Jacob Middelkamp, Public Member (January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2022)
Sharon White, Public Member (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2022)
Sean Schoenberger, Public Member (January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2023)
Dan Barsotti, Public Member (May 2021 – December 31, 2023)
Bert Mitchell, Public Member (May 2021 – December 31, 2023)
Cathy Gilbert, Public Member (January 25, 2022 – December 31, 2024)
Darryl Polowaniuk, Public Member (January 25, 2022 – December 31, 2024)
Denis Wiart, Public Member (January 25, 2022 – December 31, 2024)

Meeting Information:

The board meets four Wednesdays per year.  Meetings begin at 8 a.m. and are held at County Centre or other location identified by the board.

Visit the Sturgeon County - Meeting and Events Calendar for information on upcoming meetings. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, meetings are being held by videoconference.

Additional Info:

Board Administration contact:

Tyler Westover
Manager, Economic Development
Phone: 780-939-8358