Sturgeon County > Government > Administration > Legislative Services > By-Election > Information for Voters

Information For Voters

Elector Eligibility 

A person is eligible to vote in the Division 6 By-Election if the person: 

  1. is at least 18 years old; 

  1. is a Canadian citizen; 

  1. resides in Alberta, and 

  1. is a resident of Division 6 in Sturgeon County on the day of the by-election. 

Not available to vote on election day? Check out the Special Ballot options.


Proof of identity and current residence is required to be able to vote in municipal elections in Alberta. Any of the following documents that include the elector’s name and address will be accepted: 

  • Photo identification issued by a Canadian government or agency, whether federal, provincial or local, or an agency of that government that contains a photograph of the elector and their name and current address; 
  • Bank or credit card statement or personal cheque; 
  • Correspondence issued by a school, college or university; 
  • Government cheque or cheque stub; 
  • Income or property tax assessment notice; 
  • Insurance policy or coverage card; 
  • Letter from a public curator, public guardian or public trustee; 
  • Pension Plan statement of benefits, contributions or participation; 
  • Residential lease or mortgage statement; 
  • Statement of government benefits: e.g. employment insurance, old-age security, social assistance, disability support, or child tax benefit; 
  • Utility bill: e.g. phone, public utilities commission, television, electricity, gas or water; 
  • Vehicle ownership, registration or insurance certificate; or 
  • A letter or form confirming that the person lives at the stated address. The letter can be signed by any of the following: 
    • authorized representative of a commercial property management company; 
    • authorized representative of a correctional institution; 
    • authorized representative of a First Nations band or reserve; 
    • authorized representative of a post-secondary institution; 
    • authorized representative of a facility that provides services to the homeless; or 
    • authorized representative of a supportive living facility or treatment centre. 

If the elector’s identification shows a post office box number as the address instead of a residential or legal address, it will be accepted as verification of current address if, at the discretion of the Presiding Deputy Returning Officer at the voting station, it is in reasonable distance to the local jurisdiction in which the elector is seeking to vote. The post office box address does not need to be within the municipal division in which the elector is seeking to vote.

Elector Assistance at Home 

Any elector who, because of physical disability, is unable to attend a voting station during the advance vote or on election day, may request elector assistance at home. This service involves two election workers attending the residence of the elector to collect their vote. 

This service is available on the following dates and times: 

Thursday, December 2, 2021 – 3 p.m. to 8p.m.
Thursday, December 9, 2021 – 3 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Electors wishing to use this service must phone 780-939-8279 or email with at least 48 hours’ notice to ensure the availability of election workers.


Voting Stations

Advance Voting

Day 1

Thursday, December 2, 2021

3:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Gibbons Legion - 5027 50 Street, Gibbons

Day 2

Thursday, December 9, 2021

3:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Redwater Pioneer Club - 4916 50 Street, Redwater, AB

Election Day

Monday, December 13, 2021

Voting stations open: 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Coronado Hall - 23108 Township Road 570

Gibbons Legion5027 50 Street, Gibbons

Redwater Pioneer Club4916 50 Street, Redwater

Contact Us

For any questions or inquiries regarding Sturgeon County's municipal election, please contact:

Voter inquiries – phone 780-939-4321

Candidate and media inquiries – phone 780-939-8377

Stay Informed

Join one or all of our email update lists

The personal information provided will be used to sign you up for the newsletter of your choice and is collected under the authority of Section 33(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, FOIP.

If you have any questions about the collection and use of this information, please contact:

Sturgeon County Access and Privacy Coordinator
9613 - 100 Street, Morinville, Alberta, T8R 1L9
(780) 939.4321 or