Media Statement


Media Statement
Corporate Communications
/ Categories: News

Media Statement

April 1, 2020 for immediate release

Council votes to waive penalties for residential utility bills and extends residential tax deadline to reduce economic impact of COVID-19 on residents

Sturgeon County, Alberta – Yesterday, Sturgeon County Council voted to waive residential penalties on unpaid municipal water and wastewater accounts from March 31 to June 30 while assuring disconnections of these services will not be performed by Sturgeon County during this time period.

Council also passed a motion to extend the deadline for municipal taxpayers for 2020 taxes from the last business day in June to August 31 without penalty. After August 31, all regular tax penalties will apply which include 6% penalty on September 1 and October 1.

“We do encourage taxpayers who are able to continue paying their tax and utility bills on time to do so, but we recognize the financial hardship many residents are currently facing,” comments Sturgeon County Mayor Alanna Hnatiw. “This provides financial flexibility to residential utility account holders financially impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic to prioritize their financial obligations without the fear of penalty or disconnection.”

To stay up-to-date on COVID19 changes and impacts, please visit our dedicated webpage at

Resident inquiries can be directed to the following:

Previous Article Regular Council Meeting
Next Article Alexander First Nation Road Closure

Theme picker