Sturgeon County - Payment FAQs

Tax Payment FAQsTax Payment FAQs

The options for tax payments are:

  • By mail to Sturgeon County 9613-100 St., Morinville, Alberta T8R 1L9
  • At the County Centre; cash, cheque or debit card only. Offices are open Monday to Friday during business hours, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • At the County Centre through the mail slot; cheque only. Non-business hours, weekends and holidays.
  • At most chartered banks, trust companies, credit unions and caisse populaire.
  •  Via Telephone/Internet Banking through most major banks.
  • Tax Installment Program (see below) for future years only.

 (Send tax bill remittance portion with your payment.)

  • Make your cheque payable to Sturgeon County.
  • Your cancelled cheque is your receipt. Please do not send cash through the mail.
  • For your convenience a post dated cheque is acceptable.

Interested in joining the Tax Installment Payment Plan? Please visit the brochures page and follow instructions on the T.I.P.P. form to join this program. T.I.P.P is only available for future years.

Residents wishing to have more manageable property tax payments can join the Tax Installment Payment Plan (TIPP). The TIPP program has no additional fees or interest.  Your current tax levy will be divided by 12 to establish your monthly payments. To learn more about the TIPP program, please CLICK HERE or call 780-939-4321 or toll free at 1-866-939-9303.

Payments must be postmarked on or before June 30 or received at Sturgeon County Centre before the end of business, 4:30 p.m. on Monday, August 31, 2020 to avoid penalty charges. Late penalty charges are as follows:

  • 6% of current levy September 1, 2020
  • 6% of current levy October 1, 2020
  • 12% of total owing March 1, 2021

Outstanding property taxes from prior years will be subject to a 12% penalty effective March 1, 2019.

Payment by cash, cheque or debit card only, must be received at Sturgeon County Centre before the end of business, 4:30 p.m., February 28, 2021.