Sturgeon County - Disaster & EMS

Disaster & EMSDisaster & EMS

Protective Services

Sturgeon County Protective Services is committed to serving the community by protecting life, property and the environment through prevention and response. There are three full-time firefighters, 180 volunteer firefighters, five Peace Officers and an Animal Control Officer on staff.

Sturgeon County is responsible for administrative, operational and training support of seven fire halls. Protective Services consists of the four areas: Animal Control Services, Disaster Services, Emergency Services and Enforcement Services.

Disaster Services

Sturgeon County has an Municipal Emergency Plan (MEMP) in place to ensure the safety of our residents and to initiate a timely and efficient response to a disaster or emergency. County staff regularly participate in emergency simulation exercises with other local municipalities to establish a level of emergency readiness.

If a major disaster or emergency strikes, affected residents will be notified by various communication vehicles, and possibly through the Alberta Emergency Alert System depending on the severity of the situation.

An Emergency Action Guide has been created to assist residents in preparing for most emergency situations. Click here to find the guide in our library, listed under Protective Services.

Emergency Services

Emergency Services coordinates and maintains 9-1-1 emergency response services for the County. Emergency Services also plays a critical role in providing expertise and guidance relating to disaster situations and emergency preparedness, planning and response.

To report a fire in the County it’s best to call 9-1-1. If calling 9-1-1 from a cellular phone, ask for the Parkland County Emergency Call Centre, which serves Sturgeon County.

Enforcement Services

Enforcement Services ensure County bylaws are followed and traffic violations are minimized by patrolling the community and responding to complaints. Enforcement Services is also responsible for providing contract bylaw enforcement services to the towns of Bon Accord, Gibbons, Thorhild and Legal.

Ambulance / EMS

Ambulance / EMS services within Sturgeon County is overseen and provided by Alberta Health Services. If you have a medical emergency or require an ambulance Dial 9-1-1.