Municipal Addressing

Sturgeon County implemented municipal (also known as civic) addressing in 1997 with Bylaw 825/97. Under that Bylaw, all parcels containing a residence or commercial building must be assigned an address by the County. These addresses are utilized by emergency service providers for efficient response, as well as by residents and utility service providers. A description and diagram with example of how the addressing system works can be found below:

Addresses are assigned after a development permit has been approved.


Canada Post Addressing Alignment Project

In the fall of 2008, Sturgeon County Council passed a resolution which allowed Canada Post to align rural route mailing addresses with municipal addressing. Currently, mail service from Bon Accord, Edmonton, Gibbons and St. Albert has been converted from rural route addressing to County assigned municipal addressing. Postal codes for addresses in those areas can be looked up at The fourth phase of the project includes the Morinville and Legal rural routes. This includes rural route addresses that use Calahoo, Riviere Qui Barre or Alcomdale. Post Office Box addresses are not included. Information regarding this project will be sent directly to affected residents over the course of the project. For more information, please call 780-939-8299 or refer to the Frequently Asked Questions F.A.Q.'s Email: