Museums in Sturgeon County

Sturgeon County Facts!

Did You Know?

☑️ The Municipal District of Sturgeon No. 548 formed January 1, 1918
☑️ Sturgeon County sits on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional lands of the Michel Band, named after Chief Michel Callihoo
☑️ We are home to Alberta’s first school established in what is now near the Hamlet of Lamoureux
☑️ The first wheat grown for re-sale purposes was also produced in Sturgeon County, by Mr. Bill Cust.

Want to learn more about our history? Head to one of the museums located right here in Sturgeon County.