Sturgeon County Agribusiness and Agritourism Review Task Force Minutes

March 1, 2022, 5:00 p.m. Morinville Cultural Community Center

Attendees: (P = Present, R= Regrets)

Task Force		Public	Administration	
Cathy Gilbert – Chair	Р		Travis Peter	Р
Cllr. Deanna Stang – Vice-Chair	Р		Tyler Westover	Р
Mayor Alanna Hnatiw (ex-officio)	Р		Bonnie McInnis	Р
Tam Andersen	Р		Leanne McBean	Р
David Benjestorf	Р		Jackie Sargent	Р
Richard Boissonnault	Р		Jonathan Heemskerk	Р
Andrew Rosychuk	Р			
Mark Chuiko	Р			
Deb Foisy	Р			

1. Call to Order - Cathy Gilbert, Chair

• Chair called the meeting to order at 5:21pm.

2. Adoption of Agenda and Minutes – Cathy Gilbert, Chair

- R. Boissonnault moved the February 1, 2022, minutes as amended to change Richard Boissonnault's status to present, A. Hnatiw seconded the motion. *Carried*.
- R. Boissonnault moved the agenda, T. Anderson seconded the motion. *Carried*.

3. Meeting Overview – Cathy Gilbert, Chair

- Discussion of the meeting goals and objectives:
 - o Review the three options presented by administration and discuss as a group.
 - o To reach a final decision on recommendations to Council.
 - o Review and provide feedback on the draft recommendation report.

4. Administration Presentation – Bonnie McInnis, Sturgeon County

- Operator and resident feedback takeaways.
- Task force decisions to date.
- Presentation of three options:
 - o Blended diversified agriculture & agritourism use
 - Separate diversified agriculture & agritourism uses
 - New land use district "Agriculture 2"
- Definition of event venue & general use definition and terminology.
- Other suggested Land Use Bylaw Changes.
- Development permit and rezoning process explanation.

5. Workshop - Cathy Gilbert, Chair & Sturgeon County Administration

- Group discussion on the following topics:
 - Event venue use and terminology
 - Option 1: Blended diversified agriculture & agritourism use
 - Option 2: Separate diversified agriculture & agritourism uses
 - Option 3: New land use district "Agriculture 2"
 - Intensity Matrix permitted vs. discretionary uses
- D. Benjestorf moved that the AARTF support the proposed definition of the Event Venue use and updated terminology definition, R. Boissonnault seconded the motion. *Carried*.
- M. Chuiko moved that the AARTF recommend option 1 (blended diversified agriculture & agritourism use) and option 3 (new land use district "Agriculture 2") to Sturgeon County Council subject to review and consensus on the intensity matrix, R. Boissonnault seconded the motion. *Carried*.

6. Refresher Committee Code of Conduct – Jackie Sargent, Sturgeon County

- Presentation given by Jackie Sargent on the committee code of conduct.
 - The Task Force Chair is the spokesperson for the Task Force. Media questions must be directed through the Chair.
 - Members are free to express their opinions as long as they accurately state the Task Force's decisions and acknowledge that decision-making rests with the Task Force as a whole.
 - Members must not divulge information that was provided in closed session (in private) at a Task Force meeting until the information is made public.
 - Once the Task Force is dissolved, those who served on the Task Force are not restricted from participating in future steps of the process.
 - Any Land Use Bylaw amendment would require a Public Hearing.
 - Former Task Force members would be permitted to participate in this process as a private citizen, ensuring that they do not identify themself as a representative of the Task Force.

7. Meeting Recap/Outcomes - Cathy Gilbert, Chair & Sturgeon County Administration

• Presentation given by Tyler Westover on Opportunities Moving Forward with respect to Economic Development.

8. Next Steps - Cathy Gilbert, Chair & Sturgeon County Administration

- Notice of next meeting date & objectives
 - o Task force members to submit feedback on changes to the intensity matrix.
 - o Amendments for the matrix through discussion with the task force.
 - Approach for the recommendation and presentation to Council.
- Motion to Adjourn Chair at 9:04pm D. Benjestorf moved for adjournment; R. Boissonnault seconded the motion. *Carried*.