# Sturgeon County Agribusiness and Agritourism Review Task Force Minutes

# November 2, 2021 6:00 p.m. At Morinville Community Cultural Centre

**Attendees:** (P = Present, R= Regrets)

| Task Force                           |   | Consultants               |   | Administration    |   |
|--------------------------------------|---|---------------------------|---|-------------------|---|
| Cathy Gilbert – Chair                | Р | Pearce Shewchuk           | Р | Travis Peter      | Р |
| Councillor Deanna Stang – Vice Chair | Р | Hawley Campbell           |   | Tyler Westover    | Р |
| Councillor Matthew McLennan (phone)  | Р | Courtney Laurence (phone) | P | Bonnie McInnis    | Р |
| Mayor Alanna Hnatiw (ex-officio)     | Р | Constance Gourley         | Р | Jackie Sargent    | Р |
| Tam Andersen                         | Р | Darrell Toma              | R |                   |   |
| David Benjestorf                     | Р |                           |   |                   |   |
| Richard Boissonneault                | Р |                           |   | Members of Public |   |
| Mark Chuiko                          | Р |                           |   | Via phone: Fred   |   |
| Deb Foisy                            | Р |                           |   |                   | · |
| Andrew Rosychuk                      | Р |                           |   |                   | · |

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions

- Chair called meeting to order at 6:10pm.
- Introductions of new Council members appointed to Task Force.

# 2. Meeting Minutes and agenda approvals/corrections

- Adoption of the Agenda Chair
  - D. Benjestorf moved the agenda, R. Boissonneault seconded motion.
- Adoption of Minutes from Previous Meeting Chair
  - Minutes not distributed, motion to postpone adoption to next meeting.
  - A. Rosychuk moved the motion, D. Benjestorf seconded motion.
- Motion to include addition to agenda, discussion point on BC Tourism document by T. Andersen.
  - Motion seconded by D. Benjestorf.

# 3. Legislative Items-Chair

• Election of new Vice-Chair

- Councillor Deanna Stang nominated by R. Boissonneault.
- Nomination Seconded by T. Andersen.

### 4. AARTF Workplan Update: Nichols/ISL, Sturgeon County Administration

- P. Shewchuk provided a Project Recap presentation.
- T. Peter provided presentation on revised timeline and approach
  - Included group discussion on regulatory needs, impacts of agribusiness and agritourism on the region, economic opportunities, project timeline adjustment, input from adjacent landowners to agribusiness / agritourism operations and process/ format, confirmation of where survey is available, provincial land management,
- Chair put motion on the floor: to invite adjacent landowners of agribusinesses and
  agritourism operations and business owners to come and do a presentation at the task
  force for the committee. Presentation format to be a specific time, focus on the issues
  at hand and the Task Force will be allowed to ask questions.
  - D. Stang- moved motion, D. Benjestorf seconded motion.
  - All In favor- one opposed- A. Rosychuk
- Chair placed motion on floor to extend meeting to conduct the rest of the agenda
- R. Boissonneault moved motion, D. Benjestorf seconded motion.

#### 5. Comments on Key Review Elements (30 minutes) – County

- T. Peter provided a recap stating the balance between opportunity and County interest. Highlighted the need for a new format in the form of workshops, discussion on regulatory guidelines.
- B. McInnis provided presentation: Agritourism and Events Venue Uses
- Group discussion on Land Use Bylaw districts, municipal improvement processes, agritourism definition, impacts of agritourism and agribusiness operations.

# 6. Addition to Agenda by T. Andersen: "Farm Diversification Through Agri-Tourism" – British Columbia Ministry of Agriculture

- Document is valuable and has the ability to inform the Task Force.
- T. Andersen placed motion on the floor to include this document the supporting and guiding document for the task force.
- In favour- T. Andersen, A. Rosychuk
- Motion defeated.
- Discussion on accepting document for information and resume discussion next meeting.

# 7. Best Practice Review (10 minutes) - Nichols/ISL

- Presentation of comparator jurisdictions
- Debate on the comparator jurisdiction
- D. Benjestorf motioned to accept the Comparator Jurisdictions as presented, R.
   Boissonneault seconded motion.

# 8. Next Steps

- The Chair put forward a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:57pm.
  - Adjournment motion moved by D. Benjestorf, seconded by Andrew Rosychuk.

# 9. Next Meeting – Chair

• The next Task Force meetings will take place on November 30<sup>th</sup> and December 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2021, from 6:00pm – 8:00pm (location TBD).