Contractors: An Opportunity to Help Residents Save Energy

Graphic showing solar panel installation

The Clean Energy Improvement Program (CEIP) is a new financing tool to help residential and non-residential property owners with the upfront costs of energy efficiency and renewable energy upgrades. Financing will be tied to the property, not the property owner. Property owners pay back the cost through their property taxes and enjoy the energy savings.

Local contractors are important to the success of the Sturgeon County’s CEIP!

We invite electricians, plumbers, HVAC technicians, energy auditors, window, building insulation, and solar installers that service Sturgeon County to apply to become CEIP Qualified Contractors. Only CEIP Qualified Contractors are eligible to work on Clean Energy Improvement Program projects. Service organizations, energy auditors and subcontractors who also install, or otherwise provide a product or service for an upgrade, must become a CEIP Qualified Contractor and be listed on the Contractor Directory.

This program will make it easier for customers to bundle upgrades and take on larger retrofits thanks to the flexible financing options. Competitive financing covers up to 100 per cent of project costs and makes repayment convenient through your customer’s regular property tax bill.

Eligible residential upgrades include:

  • Doors, windows, insulation, and air sealing
  • Heating, ventilation, and air conditioning
  • Lighting
  • Renewable energy, solar, PV, and thermal
  • Water heating

Visit the Clean Energy Improvement site for a complete list of eligible upgrades. If you’re interested in learning more about becoming a CEIP Qualified Contractor visit the CEIP page on Sturgeon County’s website. We will support you so you can provide customers with the right information as they move through their application process.

Sturgeon County will offer the CEIP to residential property owners starting summer 2023 and commercial property owners in early 2024. The Clean Energy Program is administered by Alberta Municipalities in partnership with Sturgeon County.

A fire restriction is in effect for Sturgeon County and the towns of Bon Accord, Legal and Redwater.

Scroll to Top